Want to Save this to Read Later? - TO DOWNLOAD THIS POST AS A PDF >> CLICK HERE <<

This has been quite a week for me.  About four days ago, on Saturday evening, my laptop gave me a memory failure warning when I shut it down.  That’s never a comforting sign.

On Sunday, I booted it backup again, but every operation I attempted was like wading through quick-set concrete. I’ll spare you the details, but the end result was my decision to reinstall my operating system.

After 48 hours of tedious updates and installations, I love the “new-ness” of having a cleaned up machine.  (Yes, I do realize that this is just a bandaid … the hardware is going to fail again.)  However, with all of my backups, Roboform to remember all of my passwords (love that service), and Chrome acting like nothing happened, there was just one glitch. When I reinstalled Memory Manager and tried to activate it, I realized that I cannot activate it anymore.

Doh!

That’s the one thing that I didn’t think through before I took the leap.  In retrospect, it wouldn’t have mattered, because my computer was unusable before the reinstall anyway.

The good news is, Artisan and Historian aren’t nearly the hit to the wallet that Storybook Creator and Memory Manager were.  In fact, I got into both programs for just a little more than I would have spent initially purchasing just one of them before.

I started out downloading Historian because I had already restored my main memory vault from my File History (a great backup feature available in Windows 8).  The installation went smoothly, it activated quickly, and I opened my memory vault with no problems.  Other than the new logo/look, this is the same program and works just like Memory Manager.

Next, I downloaded and installed Artisan.  Since I hadn’t reinstalled Storybook Creator on my cleaned up machine, it didn’t recognize that I was a Creative Memories user.  That’s ok, though.  It’s still the same program I had before, and it’s capable of using all of the Creative Memories’ digital content I had.  It took me a little while to restore all of my packages, but they are now all happily recognized in the content manager and we’re ready to get back to work.

The good news through all of this is that I hopefully learned something the hard way before you have to. If you’re contemplating upgrading your computer, keep in mind that you won’t be able to reactivate your Creative Memories software anymore. However, your projects and your memory vaults aren’t affected by that.  They will still remain usable or readable by Artisan and Historian. Keep them backed up and safe, and your work will survive the transition.

Until the next time, Enjoy!

~ Deb

 

Want to Save this to Read Later? - TO DOWNLOAD THIS POST AS A PDF >> CLICK HERE <<